skip to Main Content
  • This topic has 49 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by Profile PhotoCTab.
  • Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 50 total)
  • Profile Photo
    anonymous
    Participant

Hi, I have a 3 year old that does not like to eat. He won’t touch any type of chicken, meat, fish, soup, and almost no vegetables! He usually ends up eating either dairy (like cream cheese bread, yogurt, pizza) or scrambled eggs, or plain pasta, even that very little. His weight is perfect for his height on the chart, although he is petite. At home I never pushed him to eat, but in school (they have school lunch) his teacher does try to get him to eat, and would sometimes feed him. My question is, is it necessary, or beneficial to try to push him to eat other food? If yes, any tips?

Profile Photo
    Banana
    Participant

Hi anonymous!

I’m no expert on the topic but just want to share my thoughts. I myself was extremely picky (very similar to the way in which you describe your son) until I was in my teens probably. I slowly started eating chicken (funny story how I was tricked into trying it – I was told it was fried fish 🙂 ) and then meat and then salmon etc. Today, although I’m still a picky eater, I think I eat enough foods to live a healthy life and I am still trying new foods.

I think it’s very common for kids to choose dairy over healthier meat products. I wouldn’t be concerned about this with such a young child. I would also softly tell the teacher not to push him too much eat something he doesn’t want. Just very gently. You and the teacher can offer him incentives for eating (or even trying) healthy foods he normal wouldn’t (a treat for dessert, read him a book, an extra nosh). But I certainly don’t feel like it’s something to worry about – especially at such a young age – and as you mentioned that his weight is normal. Hatzlacha!

Profile Photo
    anonymous
    Participant
    Topic Author