skip to Main Content
  • Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Profile Photo
    Openminded
    Participant

Ive heard recently of ocd in relationships like obsessive thoughts all day about relationship is that a real thing or a new title and nothing else

Profile Photo
    Chavy
    Participant

I’m not a professional at all, but I do think that obsessing about relationships is a sub-type of OCD, but I’d love to hear from the professionals here!! Is it just regular OCD intrusive thoughts, or something more?

Profile Photo
    Openminded
    Participant
    Topic Author

Also wondering what would be the compulsion in it

Hi Nochum,

Perhaps you are referring to Relationship OD or ROCD?

It’s  a subtype of OCD which involves obsessing through being consumed by one’s doubts about their relationship. Common examples of obsessions relate to whether one married the right person, is attracted to their spouse, are truly in love with their spouse, or if their spouse truly loves them.

The compulsions are typically about reassurance- seeking from others or reassuring one’s self  that there’s nothing to doubt and that the relationship is ok.

Hope that helps!

Profile Photo
    Openminded
    Participant
    Topic Author

Im in therapy but just what is the method to get outta of this and enjoy life

Research shows that the  best treatment for OCD or ROCD is Exposure and Response Prevention therapy (ERP). If you do have an OCD diagnosis, that’s the best form of treatment for you. If that is the type of therapy that you are in, then that’s “the method to get outta this and enjoy life.” If you are in a different form of therapy, it’s possible that the therapy is either not helpful, or worse, exacerbating your symptoms.
    Medication together with therapy is another intervention to consider.

It sounds like you’re really suffering.

There absolutely is hope for things to improve with the effective interventions I mentioned above.

Best of luck!

Profile Photo