skip to Main Content
  • Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Profile Photo
    avacad0
    Participant

Hi. I have a child diagnosed with ASD. He looks completely normal yet his actions are very different. I have a hard time at times when in public between people with  whom I don’t feel like sharing and explaining. I feel so judged and bad. Almost as if it’s my fault that he is the way he is. Anyone can relate to my situation?

Profile Photo
    LearningMan
    Participant

It is very very hard.  Men and women both have a hard time and there is no real answer.

My child is like that and acts honestly weird.  Now he is 20 years old and after huge efforts, I am very proud of him.  He’s a good kid and G-d willing will be starting a program that is appropriate.

If you would like to speak, I have a lot of experience and can commiserate.

Best

Profile Photo
    alwaysworried
    Participant

This must be a really hard struggle. I know that many people feel ashamed with special needs children and feel like others look at them and judge them. i know for myself that i look at families with these children with so much admiration and respect and i’m not lofty so i can imagine that there are others like myself and therefore a lot of the shame is projected although only natural i assume. The fact is that this is a really difficult test from God and no one can argue that fact, hence the tremendous respect and admiration you all deserve.

Profile Photo
    avacad0
    Participant
    Topic Author

Thank you for the feedback and encouragement! It is a very big struggle for myself and my family. Although I am thankful to hashem for giving me the opportunity to help one of his struggling children reach their maximum potential. I still struggle with feelings of shame and guilt.

@canwetalk shared this-