skip to Main Content
  • Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile Photo
    Chavy
    Participant

Hi,

I really enjoy writing and have submitted many articles to various Jewish publications but they mostly get rejected. (Most of my letters to the editor have gotten in, but not articles). I’m feeling very disheartened about it and like it’s beyond me to breakthrough and get in. Does anyone have suggestions? It further proves my perception of myself at not being “enough” and that my writings aren’t good enough for them. My friends and family all like my writings, but not the professionals.

I’d love to hear any advice or feedback.

Profile Photo
    Mitchell
    Participant

As an aspiring writer myself, I completely understand how difficult it can feel to break through. I’m sure you are a great writer, and while I know it’s disheartening, don’t let that get you down!  One thing I often struggle with is revising my own work, and taking it from a pretty good idea to something that’s professional quality. The best advice I’ve gotten on this is to find one friend or colleague that you trust and have them give you honest feedback and then go back to work on it. Hopefully, this can push you over the edge from something I’m sure is really good, to something great.

Profile Photo
    Chavy
    Participant
    Topic Author

Hi Mitchell,