skip to Main Content
  • Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Bereavement can be defined as the period after loss in which grief and mourning is experienced.
    The loss can be the death of someone close, a personal decline in health or in a significant other, or an end to an important relationship.
    While everyone’s response to loss is unique there are 5 stages of grief that typically accompany the bereaved state.
    5 stages of grief:
    1. Denial, disbelief
    2. Anger, blame
    3. Bargaining
    4. Depressed mood, sadness
    5. Acceptance
    It’s important to note – these reactions don’t necessarily occur in a specific order, and not everyone experiences all these emotions.
    Grief is a painful, exhausting, and powerful emotion. It’s therefore tempting to try and bury these feelings in attempt to move on with daily life. While this tactic may work temporarily, in the long term these feelings tend to manifest as another physical or mental illness.
    Confronting and dealing with these feelings in a supportive environment such as counseling and/or support groups is an essential part of the healing process.
    If you or someone you love experienced or is experiencing a loss, this is the space for you to reach out and connect with others to continue healing.
    Support yourself and others by subscribing to this category so you can join the conversation at any time.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to to reply to this topic. Not a member yet? Register now!

Back To Top